Words are powerful-they have the ability to make us and the ability to break us. They pick us up and they put us down. They comfort us in our time of need and they make us cry as if our heart is breaking. Words are not only a part of our lives, they are the builders of our lives.

At some point in our lives, we have struggled for the words we need to express ourselves, to explain ourselves, to show that we care, to show that we love, to show who we are and to show what we mean.

Words are so much more than just words. They take us on beautiful journeys, they help us make beautiful relationships, they teach us how to survive in this world.

Words have been a part of my life for as long as I can remember. When I was young, I was too scared to tell people what was in my heart, to utter the words out loud. Perhaps it was because I felt so much that I was afraid that when I finally allowed my feelings to flow free into words, so much would come out, more than what I would want to come out, and the feeling of vulnerability, of being left exposed and bare and open terrified me to death.

The first time I took a pen in my hand and started writing on a piece of random paper I found stuffed in my bag, I didn’t know what I was going to write about, how long it would be, what form it would take, what emotions it would manifest. But the moment the tip of my pen touched the surface of that rough, crumpled paper, the ink flowed and took the shape of words. Bright, beautiful words that just started to appear on the blank page, filling it up, enriching it, embellishing it, and I couldn’t seem to stop.

This blog is for all of you who have, even once, felt the power of words. This blog is for you, for me, for us. So if you want your words to get out there and let other people feel their power too, whether as an anonymous writer or with your name below, email me at adrian.michelle001@gmail.com. I would love to see your words, feel the power pulsing in them and let the world feel it too. It can be in any form, whether poetry, your life events, your views, a 100-word story, even a single sentence on something you feel strongly about. As long as it is a word, it has the power to change lives. I would love to hear from you and will eagerly anticipate every word you send me. Thank you.

Oh, and I forget to tell you, that first time I wrote, it was a poem on my mother.

